Stepanek (2014) EAP creatively

Stepanek, I. (2014, February). Implementing creativity in language learning: A practical guide. Paper presented at conference 28. Arbeitstagung des AKS, Vorsprung durch Sprachen, Fremdsprachenausbildung an den Hochschulen, Technischen Universität Braunschweig, Germany.

Starting this blog has surpassed my expectations. I am in the habit of writing: it’s now normal for me to write every day. I’ve finally changed my mantra (after nearly 20 years of academic study) from “I HATE writing!” to “No worries, just write”. I trust learning through huge hours of practical experience, so am sure my writing style and speed will improve over time.

I’m at a foreign language learning conference in Braunschweig, Germany: 28. Arbeitstagung des AKS. The main conference language is German, so I’m limited to attending the occasional presentations in English, but I’ve have just been inspired by “Implementing creativity in language learning: A practical guide” from Libor Stepanek, Masaryk University Language Center, Brno, Czech Republic. Libor bases his teaching methods and learning processes on ideas about creativity from Robinson, Csikszentmihalyi, de Bono, Torrance, Treffinger, Runco, and Gillford among others. He aims to move learners from clear to unclear situations, and from clear to unclear solutions, breaking down students’ barriers of perception, tricking students into using and developing a variety of creative skills, specifically creative fluency, flexibility, originality, and elaboration. I need to talk it him, but somehow he has obtained management approval of a huge university (43,000 students, with approx. 10,000 language center students) to teach without a prepared syllabus, flexibly, using the multidisciplinary class groups as active communities of practice. Libor uses creative practical activities to raise students’ awareness of language, and language learning processes and strategies. He expects time-consuming extensive listening and reading outside of the classroom as students source and select language learning materials for the current learning group. I’m impressed: I’d work on his team.

See Libor’s blog here: www.eapcreatively.blogspot.cz

One thought on “Stepanek (2014) EAP creatively

  1. I met Libor Stepanek last year in Bremen, at the Bremer Symposion on Learner Autonomy and I love his talk.
    I was in Braunschweig, too, but I gave myself a paper in another section, so I couldn’t hear him.
    Amazing how creativity can be fostering and exciting for some teachers and learners! But it’s also very demanding, so that you have to overcome resistance in order to implement it.
    Nevertheless, it’s worth trying.
    Personally I think creativity should go together with critical thinking and with taking control of one’s own learning. As manager of a self-access centre, I see myself devoted to fostering learner and teacher autonomy.
    Nice blog, I’ll come around again!
    Best
    Giovanna

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *